shopify analytics

Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

01/22/2014

16 Million Email Addresses and Passwords stolen

They knew since December, but decided to tell us today. Investigations into a huge botnet turned up 16 million stolen email addresses, complete with passwords, half of them ending in .de - Germany.

I found out that my oldest email address, which I have been using for almost everything in the past 15 years, is one of them. I had almost expected that, given my level of exposure online, and I wasn't really concerned about any consequences, because I have been doing enough to protect my computers, and online accounts, and identities.  

Just in case you want to know what I'd recommend for your protection - and peace of mind:

  • For your online activities use an email address that does not contain your name
  • Use a unique, different password for every online account
  • Create complex passwords, using a system that is easy for you to remember
  • Change your passwords for everything every three months, or even more often
  • Keep your virus protection and firewall on all your computers up to date.
  • Scan all your computers for malware with multiple, different programs a least monthly
  • Turn all your computers off when you are not using them

BSI2014.jpg


 

The comments are closed.