shopify analytics

Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

03/14/2017

Rider Genes?

My daughter posted a picture on Instagram today, about her first motorcycle lesson. All geared up and excited. As I clicked on “like”, smiling, I was reminded of my own excitement when I had finally saved up enough money to buy my first motorcycle, 36 years ago.

AlteMotorradHandschuhe.jpg

My mother didn’t like the idea of me riding, but she still gave me her father’s old motorcycle gloves, for good luck. I had never met my grandfather; he died long before I was born, but I remember photos of him on his beautiful Indian.

BMW-R65-198103.jpg

I knew I wanted to ride, in the front seat of course, when one of my classmates in highschool took me for a spin on his new HONDA in 1974. But, since my parents didn’t support the idea, I had to wait and save money to be able to pay for the license, and for the bike, and I had to be independent.

I got my motorcycle license in 1980, and in March 1981 I laid down 9,100.00 Deutsche Mark in cash at a BMW motorcycle dealership for this blue BMW R65 with white hardcases.

The comments are closed.